Virginia State Parks provide comfortable and economical overnight accommodations. There are more than 300 cozy, climate-controlled cabins of various sizes throughout the state. Many cabins are available year round. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern-day life, you can't beat a Virginia State Park cabin.
Cabin sizes and sleeping arrangements vary by park. Climate-controlled cabins are available at:
Click here for photos of Virginia State Park cabins, which vary greatly from park to park. Note that not all of the cabins pictured on Flickr may be rented. Many are historical features.
All cabins have kitchens and bathrooms. Furnishings and equipment include simple furniture, microwave, refrigerator, oven, dishes, cooking utensils, silverware, kitchen towels and glassware. Bath towels and bedroom linens, including mattress covers, pillows, blankets, sheets and pillow cases, also are included.
All cabins except those at Chippokes Plantation State Park and Twin Lakes State Park's Hill Lodge and Martin Cottage have fireplaces. Cabins at Smith Mountain Lake have wood stoves.
Between Memorial Day and Labor Day, the cabin rental period is one week. If available, cabins may be rented for less than a week during this period up to 30 days prior to the desired dates. There is a two-night minimum stay. During this season, cabin rentals for less than a week's stay within the 30-day window cannot be reserved online. Call the Customer Service Center Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., at (800) 933-7275 for help.
For larger family groups and retreats, family lodges are available at Bear Creek Lake, Claytor Lake, Douthat, Fairy Stone, Hungry Mother, James River, Kiptopeke, Natural Tunnel, Occoneechee, Shenandoah River and Westmoreland. The lodges are rented only as single units, and individual rooms are not available.
Check-in time is 3 p.m.; check-out time is 10 a.m. Check-in days during the week-long requirement vary, so contact the Customer Service Center. All reservations are subject to availability. Cabins cannot be reserved for more than 14 days in a row.
In addition to cabins and family lodges, special facilities include:
Bel Air Mansion and Guest House - These two upscale, overnight facilities in Belle Isle State Park are perfect for family reunions or picturesque weddings. Furnished with antique reproductions, the mansion comfortably sleeps six, and the simply furnished guest house sleeps eight.
Cove Ridge Center at Natural Tunnel State Park - Available for reunions, conferences or business meetings, the two attached dormitories can accommodate up to 30 each. Overnight guests have free use of adjacent swimming pool during normal operating hours. Reservations are handled by the park at (276) 940-2696.
Poplar Hill Cottage at the Southwest Virginia Museum - This quaint, garden-themed cottage is the perfect getaway in the mountains. Furnished with reproduction furniture, the charming cottage is in the historic Poplar Hill neighborhood, adjacent to other fine homes. The cottage comfortably sleeps six and two full baths. Pets are not allowed. Reservations are handled by the park at (276) 523-1322.
Click here to see typical floor plans of some Virginia State Park cabins. Cabins vary greatly from park to park and even within a given park so, naturally, floor plans vary greatly as well. These illustrations are meant only as a guide.
Reservations for camping, cabins and picnic shelters can be made by calling the Virginia State Park Customer Service Center weekdays 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at 1-800-933-PARK (7275). Reservations can be made up to 11 months in advance. We do not generally accept same-day reservations. Payments must be made in full to the Customer Service Center within 14 days after the reservation is made or prior to the arrival, whichever is soonest. The Reservation Counselor will give the payment due date at the time the reservation is made. Reservations can also be made online. Each park’s Web page has a “Reserve Now” button on the right side of the page. Clicking it takes you to the Web reservation page for that park. Web reservations require credit card payment at time of the reservation.
Payments can by made by American Express, Discover, MasterCard or VISA over the phone (by the card-holder only) or by check or money order (online reservations are by credit card only). Checks and money orders should be made payable to Virginia State Parks and mailed to Division of State Parks, The Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 100, Richmond, VA 23233. (For a check from a foreign country, please show U.S. Funds after the amount.) Payments can also be made in person there Monday through Friday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. No cash, please. A non-refundable $5 transaction fee is charged for all overnight rentals. The fee covers the entire stay, regardless of length.
Cabin cancellations may be made by calling the Customer Service Center during operating hours or calling the park when the center is closed. A flat $20 fee is charged for cabin cancellations made at least a month prior to the scheduled arrival date. The fee for cancellations made less than a month before the scheduled arrival date is $20 per night. Cancellation fees also apply to early departures and reductions in the number of nights of the cabin rental. Because cabins require a minimum two-night stay, the charge for an early departure or reduction will be two nights’ rental plus $20 per additional night. Any departure made after the cabin check-in time of 3 p.m. is considered a full night’s stay.
Lodge cancellations may be made by calling the Customer Service Center during operating hours or calling the park when the center is closed. A flat $50 cancellation fee is charged for lodge cancellations made at least a month prior to the scheduled arrival date. The fee for cancellations made less than a month before the scheduled arrival date is $50 per night. Cancellation fees also apply to early departures and reductions in the number of nights of a lodge rental. Because lodges require a minimum two-night stay, the charge for an early departure or reduction will be two nights’ rental plus $50 per additional night. Any departure made after the lodge check-in time of 3 p.m. is considered a full night’s stay.
For cabin, lodge, camping lodge (bunkhouse), camping cabin, RV trailer and yurt reservations, transfers must be made through the Customer Service Center by 5 p.m. on the Monday prior to your scheduled arrival. If the given Monday is a state holiday, the deadline is Tuesday by 5 p.m. After that time, you must use the rental or cancel the reservation, and cancellation fees will be charged.
Contact the Customer Service Center at 1-800-933-PARK (7275) for a complete description of the refund recalculation policy as well as for specific cancellation and transfer policies for day-use facilities such as picnic shelters, meeting facilities, etc.