About DCR
State Parks
Soil and Water
Dam Safety and

Virginia Clean Water Farm Award

Clean Water Farm Award signAbout the awards - The Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation is proud to sponsor the Clean Water Farm Award and the Bay Friendly Farm Award. Virginia farmers who implement conservation plans and are doing their part to preserve water quality. They deserve recognition and thanks. These individuals are role models who encourage others to do their part as well.

Farmers spend time, energy and hard-earned money carrying out conservation practices, but others also benefit from their treatment of the land. When nutrients, pesticides and chemicals are kept out of local waterways, quality of life is maintained - and even improved - for many people and wildlife.

And the winners are... Farmers and landowners who receive the Virginia Clean Water Farm Award progressively manage their operations and have adopted and implemented innovative conservation tools, technologies and practices. If you are a farmer or landowner whose farm exemplifies the use of practices that protect and enhance water quality, you can be nominated for this award.

Anyone may nominate a farmer or farm for a Clean Water Farm Award. Simply contact a local soil and water conservation district for assistance completing an application. Virginia’s 47 soil and water conservation districts decide local winners, who can represent any of the 94 counties and 18 cities SWCDs comprise. If you win, you will receive a certificate signed by the governor and a sign to display proudly at your farm. Previous Clean Water Farm Award local and state winners are eligible; you can win the award more than once.

Above and beyond . . . Grand Basin Awards - From the pool of Virginia Clean Water Farm Award recipients, up to 10 grand winners representing Virginia's major river basins are selected each year. Nominees are submitted by local SWCDs. Grand Basin Award winners must meet criteria of the Clean Water Farm Award and demonstrate exceptional conservation on the land and in managing operations. These award winners receive additional acknowledgement at a special recognition ceremony. In addition to the standard sign and certificate, these awards are presented for the following river basins: Big Sandy-Tennessee Rivers, Chowan River, Coastal, James River, New-Yadkin Rivers, Potomac River, Rappahannock River, Roanoke River, Shenandoah River and the York River.

Click here to download the fillable award application form.