TRAIL INFORMATION DIFFICULTY SCALE

EASY ● - From .5 to 1 mile; grades are short, typically fewer than 100 feet and less than 10 percent of the trail length; easily accomplished by all users, including the elderly and those with physical or mental disabilities, with little risk of injury or fatigue.

MODERATE ■ - From 1 to 5 miles; steepness and grade lengths vary; at least 60 percent of the length is fairly flat; healthy people can accomplish the trail with little risk of injury or fatigue.

DIFFICULT ◆ - Trail length is greater than 5 miles; more than 70 percent of the trail is on a grade; experienced hikers only or groups of three to five people recommended; there is a risk of overexertion or injury to those not conditioned.

This trail guide is designed to provide an overview of the park and not meant for detailed wayfinding. We encourage you to download the free Avenza map for greater detail.

Download while you have internet access and the map can be accessed offline.



TELL US ABOUT YOUR VISIT: https://vasp.fun/survey



VIRGINIA STATE PARKS

Douthat State Park



VIRGINIA STATE PARKS ARE A TONIC FOR THE MIND, BODY AND SPIRIT.

Museums, visitor centers and nearby historic sites make state parks cultural treasures.

The recreational opportunities in state parks are endless and easy to see – from swimming and boating to horseshoes and hiking, there's always something to do in a Virginia State Park.

14239 Douthat State Park Road Millboro, Virginia 24460 540-862-8100 douthat@dcr.virginia.gov





WWW.VIRGINIASTATEPARKS.GOV 800-933-PARK

WELCOME TO DOUTHAT STATE PARK.

To make your visit safe and more pleasant, we ask that you observe the following:

Take only pictures, leave only footprints. Park in designated areas only. Please note there is a parking fee charged year-round at all Virginia State Parks. Self-pay parking information is available at the contact station.

PRESERVE – Help preserve your park. Please don't cut or mar any plants or trees. Collecting animal or plant life is allowed only for scientific purposes by permit from the Richmond headquarters. Don't feed any wild animals.

ALCOHOL - State law permits alcohol use only in private areas (inside your cabin or camping unit) or in areas designated on permits issued by the Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control.

PETS - Pets are permitted in enclosed areas or on a leash no longer than 6 feet. Please clean up after your pet. Pets must be attended at all times.

DRONES AND OTHER AIRCRAFT - Drones, other unmanned aerial vehicles, including remote control aircraft, and aircraft in general may not be flown in state parks pursuant to 4VAC5-30-400.

LITTER - Please help us keep the park clean by placing litter and recyclables in the proper receptacles and recycle centers or carrying out your trash. The releasing of balloons is not allowed. Decorative balloons must be deflated and disposed of as trash.

FIRE - Help prevent wildfires. Fires must be confined to grills, camp stoves or designated fire rings. Fires must be attended at all times and extinguished when left. Firewood is generally available for purchase at the park. Campers and guests may collect only downed and dead firewood. We enforce all seasonal and emergency bans on open fires.

POLLUTION - Help reduce pollution. Dump stations, laundry sinks and slop sinks, where available, are for the proper disposal of wastewater. Please, no boat, RV or car washing. Portable showers that do not drain to wastewater storage tanks are prohibited by state law. Collected wastewater must be disposed of properly.

SWIMMING - Unguarded lake swimming is available at no extra charge. Park guests may swim at the designated beach within marked areas. Swimming anywhere else in the park at any time is prohibited.

FISHING - Special seasonal regulations apply at Douthat Lake. Those 16 and older need a valid Virginia freshwater fishing license. In addition, a Virginia Trout license or daily fishing permit is required, depending on the season. There is a daily creel limit of six trout with a seven inch minimum. One pole per person allowed, separate stringers required. Please see specifics at **www.dcr. virginia.gov/state-parksdouthat#recreation**.

GUESTS - Your guests are our guests. For everyone's safety and security, please register all visitors with the park office. Visitors will not be admitted to camping and cabin areas unless so identified. Visitors are permitted only between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.

QUIET HOURS - Quiet hours are between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. The use of generators is prohibited at all times.

CHECK-IN AND CHECK-OUT POLICY

Camping: Check-in 4 p.m. Check-out 1 p.m.
Cabins and Yurts: Check-in 4 p.m. Check-out 10 a.m.

In many cases, campers may be accommodated prior to the official check-in. Please remember that only those 18 or older may register. The registrant is responsible for all occupants of the campsite or cabin. Feel free to arrive early and enjoy park amenities prior to check-in.

Overnight guests are encouraged to be familiar with the early departure policy since it impacts any refund due. The policy and frequently asked questions are here: www.dcr.virginig.gov/state-parks/fgg.

CAMPING - Camping is allowed only in designated campgrounds and only after following the proper check-in procedure described in the *Reservation and Fees Guide* available at the park office. Campsite occupancy is for a maximum of six people or the number of people in a single household. Two camping units are allowed per campsite; only one axled camper is allowed per site. All camping units, equipment and vehicles must be placed within the perimeter of the designated campsite without infringing on adjoining campsites or vegetation. Where high impact areas are designated, all camping units, equipment and vehicles must be within the defined borders of the high impact area.

Park in designated areas only.

PARKING - Only two motor vehicles, as well as the camping unit, are permitted on a campsite without incurring additional fees. Cabin guests are allowed two vehicles for a one or two-bedroom cabin and six vehicles for a six-bedroom cabin per day without an additional parking fee charge. Those with additional vehicles must pay the established parking fee for each day the vehicle is in the park. The number of vehicles allowed to park at the cabin varies according to site design and other factors. All vehicles must be parked in designated areas, either at the cabin or in the designated overflow parking area. Primitive and hike-in sites may have park specific parking restrictions.

The maximum overnight stay per park is 14 days in any 30-day period.

PARK ACCESSIBILITY - We strive to make each park as barrier-free as possible. Universally accessible facilities are available throughout Virginia State Parks.

EMERGENCY - Emergency phone numbers are posted at contact stations, kiosks, trail heads and other places in the park. For medical or fire emergencies dial 9-1-1. For other assistance dial 800-933-7275: for law enforcement or facility emergencies press 1; to reach the on-duty ranger press 2.

INFORMATION - For more information on Virginia State Parks or to make a cabin or campsite reservation, call 800-933-PARK or visit **www.virginiastateparks.gov.**

