Virginia Coastal Resilience Master Plan

Technical Advisory Committee – Economic Development Subcommittee

Subject	Economic Development Subcommittee Meeting #4 Virginia Coastal Resilience Master Planning Framework	Date	May 24, 2021
Facilitator	Sara Dunnigan	Time	2:30pm – 4:00pm
Location	WebEx - https://governor.virginia.gov/i/7o9eq	Scribe	Emily Sokol

		Invitees/Attendees		
#	Name	Organization/Role	Attended?	
	Economi	ic Development Subcommittee Members and Staff Advisors		
1.	Sara Dunnigan – Chair			
		of Housing and Community Development	Y	
2.	John Bateman – Vice Chair	Regional Planner, Norther Neck Planning District Commission		
3.	Katie Sallee – Staff	Confidential Assistant to the Secretary of Natural Resources	Y	
4.	Kate Gibson	Deputy Director, George Washington Regional Commission		
5.	Denise Nelson	Environmental Engineer, George Washington Regional Commission		
6.	Jennifer Morgan	GWRC	Y	
7.	Dr. Troy Hartley	Director, Virginia Sea Grant	Y	
8.	Robert W. Lazaro	Executive Director, Northern Virginia Regional Commission		
9.	Lewis L. Lawrence, III	Executive Director, Middle Peninsula Planning District Commission	Y	
10.	Curtis Smith	Deputy Director, Middle Peninsula Planning District Commission		
11.	Stephen Moret	President & CEO, The Virginia Economic Development Partnership		
12.	Georgie Márquez	Principle, Andre Márquez Architects	Y	
13.	Dr. Robert Weiss	Director, Center for Coastal Studies at Virginia Tech		
14.	Greg Grootendorst	HRPDC	Y	
		Scheduled Speakers		
		Designated Alternates	T	
		Subcommittee Advisors	T	
15.	Emily Steinhilber	Coordinator, Commonwealth Center for Recurrent Flooding Resiliency at Old Dominion University	Y	
		Other Participants	<u>.</u>	
16.	Ann Phillips	Rear Admiral, US Navy (Ret.) – Special Assistant to the Governor for Coastal Adaptation and Protection	Y	
17.	Connor Winstead	VA Dept. of Conservation & Recreation	Y	
18.	Matt Dalon	VA Dept. of Conservation & Recreation	Y	
19.	Tracy Munyan	Program Administrative Manager, Housing & Community Development	Y	
20.	Lee Hutchinson		Y	
21.	Paul Robinson		Y	
22.	Kim McLellan		Y	
23.	Keith Cannady		Y	
24.	Reed Terry		Y	
25.	Grace Tucker		Y	
26.	Carol Considine		Y	
		Consultant Support		
27.	Johanna Greenspan- Johnston	Dewberry	Y	
28.	Emily Sokol	Vision Planning and Consulting	Y	

Virginia Coastal Resilience Master Plan Technical Advisory Committee – Economic Development Subcommittee

	Invitees/Attendees				
#	Name	Organization/Role	Attended?		
29.	Ashley Samonisky	Vision Planning and Consulting	Y		
30.	Dale Morris	The Water Institute of the Gulf	Ý		

	Agenda/Minutes			
# Agenda Item		Minutes		
1.	Roll Call and Quorum Affirmation	Sara Dunnigan called the meeting to order at 2:35 pm and took roll to establish a quorum. She advised that a quorum was present.		
2.	Welcome and Chapter 1289 Reading	John Bateman read the required Section 1289 verbiage and asked for a motion to continue the meeting virtually. Greg Grootendorst moved, and Jennifer Morgan seconded. Ms. Dunnigan conducted the vote, and the motion passed unanimously. Mr. Bateman advised all public attendees to insert questions in the chat box, which would be moderated by Katie Sallee throughout the meeting. If a disruption occurs, please contact Katie Sallee at <u>katie.sallee@governor.virginia.gov</u> or 804-663-7489.		
3.	Chair Updates & Address Concerns	 Ms. Dunnigan proposed sending out a Doodle poll to reschedule the meeting, as the agenda was not posted prior to the meeting and, therefore, could not be conducted. Ms. Dunnigan asked if there were any additional concerns to be posed by the Subcommittee. No comments or questions were voiced. Ms. Dunnigan then opened the floor to Rear Admiral Ann Phillips to relay any updates. Rear Admiral Phillips updated the Subcommittee on the status of the survey they developed. She advised that the survey had been released and 15 responses had been received so far. Currently, they are asking for all responses to be submitted by Friday (5/28) of this week. They are hoping for interest to grow prior to this deadline and will reevaluate an extension of the deadline as it approaches. Ms. Dunnigan implored all Subcommittee members to share the survey with any contacts that might be interested in participating. 		
4.	Public Comment Period	No public comments were received during the meeting.		
5.	Wrap-Up and Adjourn	Ms. Dunnigan asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Grootendorst moved, and Ms. Morgan seconded. Ms. Dunnigan conducted the verbal vote, and the motion passed unanimously. Ms. Dunnigan adjourned the meeting at 2:46 pm.		

	Action Items				
#	Action Item	Owner	Due Date		
		(Organization)	Due Date		
1.	Provide response to the distributed Doodle poll to establish rescheduled meeting	All	TBD		
	date.				

If you have any questions, please contact Emily Sokol, Vision Planning and Consulting, at esokol@vision-pc.net.