Virginia Invasive Species Council

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About the Working Group

About the Invasive Species Working Group

In 2009, the General Assembly passed legislation that established the state's commitment to addressing the invasive species that threaten the Commonwealth through cooperation and coordination of government agencies, the business community, conservation organizations, and public citizens. The legislation directs the Secretaries of Natural Resources and Agriculture and Forestry to "coordinate the development of strategic actions to be taken by the Commonwealth, individual state and federal agencies, private business, and landowners related to invasive species prevention, early detection and rapid response, control and management, research and risk assessment, and education and outreach."

The legislation builds on work achieved through previous legislation and executive directives. The Secretary of Natural Resources is tasked as chair and the Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry as vice-chair of the Invasive Species Working Group (ISWG). Current members of the ISWG listed below.

Read the 2009 Invasive Species (PDF) amendment to the Code of Virginia.

Get Adobe Acrobat ReaderTo view the downloadable PDFs available on this site you'll need Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer. It's a free download from Adobe's web site - www.adobe.com.

Virginia Invasive Species Working Group members, with alternates

The Honorable Molly Ward
Chairman of the Working Group

Secretary of Natural Resources
Patrick Henry Building
1111 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA  23219
(804) 786-0044
Molly.Ward@Governor.Virginia.Gov

The Honorable Todd Haymore
Vice-Chair of the Working Group
Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry
Patrick Henry Building
1111 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA  23219
(804) 692-2512, Todd.Haymore@Governor.Virginia.Gov

Karen Canody -- Commercial
Dominion Power
5000 Dominion Boulevard
Glen Allen, VA 23060
(804) 273-3893, Karen.k.Canody@dom.com

Tom Thompson -- Agriculture Industry
Natural Art Landscaping
3540 South Belmont Road
Richmond, VA  23234
(804) 674-5703
naturalartlandscaping@yahoo.com

Nicole Rovner -- Conservation Community
The Nature Conservancy
530 E. Main Street, Suite 800
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 644-5800 ext. 121, nrovner@tnc.org

Ken Landgraf
Planning & Forest Ecology Group Staff Officer
George Washington and Jefferson National Forests
5162 Valleypointe Parkway
Roanoke, VA 24019-3050
(540) 265-5170
klandgraf@fs.fed.us

P. Loyd Hipkins, Ph.D. -- Virginia Cooperative Extension
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Department of Plant Pathology, Physiology and Weed Science
Glade Road Research Center (0330)
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0330
(540) 231-9842, lhipkins@vt.edu
Alternate: Jacob Barney. Assistant Professor, Department of Plant Pathology, Physiology, and Weed Science Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
jnbarney@vt.edu

Sandra Adams, Commissioner
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
1100 Bank Street
Richmond, VA  23219
(804) 786-3501, Sandra.Adams@vdacs.virginia.gov
Fax: (804) 371-2945
Alternate: Larry Nichols
(804) 786-3515, Larry.Nichols@vdacs.virginia.gov

Bettina Ring, State Forester
Department of Forestry
Fontaine Research Park
900 Natural Resources Drive, Suite 800
Charlottesville, VA  22903
(434) 977-6555, bettina.ring@dof.virginia.gov
Fax: (434) 296-2369
Alternate: Chris Asaro
(434) 977-6555, Chris.Asaro@dof.virginia.gov

Clyde Cristman, Director
Department of Conservation and Recreation
600 East Main Street, 24th Floor
Richmond, VA  23219
(804) 786-2123, clyde.cristman@dcr.virginia.gov
Fax: (804) 786-6141

David Paylor, Director
Department of Environmental Quality
629 East Main Street
PO Box 1105
Richmond, VA 23218
(804) 698-4020, David.Paylor@deq.virginia.gov
Fax: (804) 698-4019

John Bull, Commissioner
Marine Resources Commission
2600 Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor
Newport News, VA  23607
(757) 247-2200, john.bull@mrc.virginia.gov
Fax: (757) 247-2020
Alternate: Robert O'Reilly
(757) 247-2200, rob.o'reilly@mrc.virginia.gov

Marissa Levine, Commissioner
Department of Health
1500 E. Main Street
Main Street Station, Room 214
Richmond, VA  23219
(804) 864-7005, Marissa.Levine@vdh.virginia.gov
Alternate: Julia Murphy, State Public Health Veterinarian
Julia.murphy@vdh.virginia.gov

Charles Kilpatrick, Commissioner
Department of Transportation
1401 E. Broad Street
Richmond, VA  23219
(804) 786-2701, Charles.Kilpatrick@vdot.virginia.gov
Fax: (804) 786-2940
Alternate: Brian Waymack
(804) 786-0967, Brian.Waymack@vdot.virginia.gov

Bob Duncan, Director
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
4010 W. Broad Street
Richmond, VA  23230
(804) 367-1000, Bob.Duncan@dgif.virginia.gov
Alternate: Ray Fernald
(804) 367-8364, ray.fernald@dgif.virginia.gov

John T. Wells, Director
Virginia Institute of Marine Science
P.O. Box 1346
Gloucester Point, Virginia 23062-1346
(804) 684-7103, wells@vims.edu
Fax: (804) 684-7097
Alternate: Roger Mann
(804) 684-7360, rmann@vims.edu

Invasive Species Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee is comprised of local, state, and federal agency experts, university researchers, representatives of nongovernmental organizations, private business, and other concerned citizens. Participation on the Advisory Committee is subject to the approval of the Working Group. The Advisory Committee provides information and advice to the Working Group and makes recommendations for action to achieve the goals of the management plan.