About DCR
 
State Parks
 
Natural
Heritage
Soil and Water
Conservation
Recreation
Planning
Dam Safety and
Floodplains
Land
Conservation
Environmental
Education

Stewardship Virginia Events

  • 05/06/2016. Clinch River Cleanup from 8:30 a.m. until 1:00 p.m. Clinch Valley SWCD. Contact Andrew Gilmer, (276) 889-4650, adnrew.gilmer@cvswcd.org.
  • 05/06/2016. Planting for the butterfly garden at the park from 10:30 a.m. until 12:00 p.m. DCR/Twin Lakes State Park. Contact Kevin Koons, (434) 392-3435, kevin.koons@dcr.virginia.gov.
  • 05/07/2016. Community Creek Cleanup and Beautification Projects from 9:00 a.m. until 1:00 p.m. City of Manassas, Neighborhood Services. Contact Christen Zenich, (703) 257-8315, czenich@ci.manassas.va.us.
  • 05/07/2016. Volunteers will meet at the Danville Science Center Train Station to cleanup the Dan River. Danville Science Center. Contact Brian Buchanan, (434) 791-5160, bbuchanan@smv.org.
  • 05/07/2016. Help us get the James river ready for a summer full of fun. We will be picking up litter and tires on a five mile stretch from the park to Maidens Landing. Come ready for a fun workday on the river and make our world a bit cleaner! Seating is limited to 10, so please pre-register. Meet at the canoe launch from 1:00 p.m. until 4:30 p.m. DCR/Powhatan State Park. Contact Cameron Lipscomb, (804) 598-7148, cameron.lipscomb@dcr.virginia.gov.
  • 05/07/2016. Take back the forest. Get involved with native habitat restoration in Fairfax County parks be removing invasive plant species. Fairfax County Park Authority. Contact Leslie Gerhard, (703) 324-8681, Leslie.Gerhard@fairfaxcounty.gov.
  • 05/11/2016. Planting for pollinators at the park from 10:30 a.m. until 12:00 noon. DCR/Occoneechee State Park. Contact Matt Wertz, (434) 572-2190, matt.wertz@dcr.virginia.gov.
  • 05/13/2016. Planting at the butterfly garden from 10:30 a.m. until 12:00 p.m. DCR/Staunton River Battlefield State Park. Contact Kevin Kiger, (434) 454-4312, Kevin.Kiger@dcr.virginia.gov.
  • 05/15/2016. Go Wild walking the Rappahannock River Valley Wildlife Refuge. Kid-friendly and educational with tours and events at the refuge. Meet at the Hutchinson Tract 19180 Tidewater Trail, Tappahannock, VA from 11:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. Essex County Parks and Recreation. Contact Kay Carlton, (804) 443-2470, kcarlton@essex-virginia.org.
  • 05/21/2016. Invasive Plant Cleanup. Help make Belle Isle State Park a haven for native species. Invasive plants displace native plants that provide food, habitat, and shelter to birds, butterflies and other animals. By removing invasive plants, natives will have more room to grow. Volunteers will meet at the Belle Isle State Park Visitor Center. The event is from 9:00 a.m. until 11:00 a.m. DCR/Belle Isle State Park. Contact Katie Shepard, (804) 462-5030, katherine.shepard@dcr.virginia.gov.
  • 05/21/2016. Historic Herb Garden Installation. Meet at the Homestead area in the picnic area of Grayson Highlands from 12:00 p.m. until 2:00 p.m. DCR/Grayson Highlands State Park. Contact Amelia Hulth, (276) 579-7092, amelia.hulth@dcr.virginia.gov.
  • 05/21/2016. Be a part of the fun. Join us in celebrating your parks ecological diversity by volunteering at Manassas National Battlefield Park for our BioBlitz and Discovery Festival. The festival will feature hands on science exhibits, food and art as well as family friendly activities. Manassas National Battlefield Park. Contact Giessell Aguilar, (571) 237-0661, juana_aguilar@nps.gove.
  • 05/21/2016. Community cleanup day for Windsor Castle Park. Volunteers will meet at 301 Jericho Road, Smithfield, VA 23430 at 8:00 a.m. Windsor Castle Foundation Board. Contact Mary Mitchell, (757) 336-9939, amusick@smithfieldva.gov.
  • 05/22/2016. Meet at the Wahrani Nature Trail to plant for pollinators at 3:00 p.m. Pack 562. Contact Paul Cuomo, (804) 647-9967, paul.cuomo@gmail.com.
  • 05/28/2016. Seagrass Restoration. The Nature Conservancy, along with several partners in the Seaside Seagrass Community Restoration Program, is once again gearing up for the largest seagrass restoration project in the world. We are looking for 100 local volunteer snorkelers and water lovers to collect millions of eelgrass seeds offshore of Oyster, VA on the Eastern Shore. Fore more information, visit www.nature.org/seagrassrestoration. PLEASE check the website to verity the date in May. Pre-register with Jennifer to receive updated information about the event. The Nature Conservancy. Contact Jennifer Dalke, (540) 335-1302, jdalke@tnc.org.
  • 06/04/2016. Join us for The Nature Generation's Annual Catch and Count Creek Creatures Day at the Chapman DeMary Nature Trail. Families, youth groups and residents are invited to join water quality experts from 1:00 p.m. until 4:00 p.m. to test the water in the South Fork Catoctin Creek in Purcellville. During this fun event, we will catch identify and count macroinvertebrates such as clams, water pennies, and mayflies. We will also be conducting turbidity tests, pick up trash to keep it from polluting the creek and plant native plants to help improve water quality and habitat. Wear shoes for hiking and clothes for the outdoors, as well as gloves for picking up trash. The trail is located at 355 North Hatch Ave., Purcellville, VA 20132. Parking and access is behind the building at 205 East Hirst Road, Purcellville, VA 20132. Visit www.NatGen.org. The Nature Generation. Contact Amie Ware, (540) 668-7738, aware@natgen.org.