Skip to Content
DAM SAFETY, FLOODPLAIN MANAGEMENT

Dam Safety and Floodplain Management staff contacts

Robert T. Bennett, P.E., R.A., C.F.M.
Division Director - Dam Safety and Floodplain Management
600 E. Main St., 24th Floor
Richmond, VA 23139
804-786-3914 office
804-371-2630 fax
Robert.Bennett@dcr.virginia.gov

Dam Safety Regions

Dam Safety territories

Click here or on the above map for a more detailed color map of the regions.

Click here for a more detailed black and white map of the regions.

Region 1

Arlington, Clarke, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Frederick, Loudoun, Madison, Page, Prince William, Rappahannock, Shenandoah, Stafford, Warren and the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, Manassas Park and Winchester

Zhengang "Michael" Wang, P.E., Ph.D., C.F.M.
Regional Dam Safety Engineer
98 Alexandria Pike, Suite 33
Warrenton, VA 20186-2849
540-351-1587 office
540-347-6423 fax
Zhengang.Wang@dcr.virginia.gov

Region 2

Caroline, Charles City, Chesterfield, Essex, Gloucester, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, James City, King and Queen, King George, King William, Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, New Kent, Northumberland, Powhatan, Richmond, Spotsylvania, Westmoreland, York and the cities of Fredericksburg, Hampton, Newport News, Poquoson, Richmond and Williamsburg

Steven "Steve" M. Snell, P.E.
Regional Dam Safety Engineer
600 E. Main St., 24th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
804-786-1359 office
804-371-2630 fax
Steven.Snell@dcr.virginia.gov

Region 3

Accomack, Amelia, Brunswick, Campbell, Charlotte, Dinwiddie, Greensville, Isle of Wight, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Northampton, Nottoway, Prince Edward, Prince George, Southampton, Surry, Sussex, and the cities of Chesapeake, Colonial Heights, Emporia, Franklin, Hopewell, Lynchburg, Norfolk, Petersburg, Portsmouth, Suffolk and Virginia Beach

Amanda Pennington, P.E.
Regional Dam Safety Engineer
600 E. Main St., 24th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
804-786-0113 office
804-371-2630 fax
Amanda.Pennington@dcr.virginia.gov

Region 4

Alleghany, Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, Buchanan, Carroll, Craig, Dickinson, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Grayson, Halifax, Henry, Lee, Montgomery, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Pulaski, Roanoke, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise, Wythe and the cities of Bristol, Covington, Danville, Galax, Martinsville, Norton, Radford, Roanoke and Salem

Thomas "Tom" I. Roberts, P.E., C.F.M.
Regional Dam Safety Engineer
8 Radford Street, Suite 201
Christiansburg, VA 24073
540-394-2550 office
540-394-2551 fax
Thomas.Roberts@dcr.virginia.gov

Region 5

Albemarle, Amherst, Appomattox, Augusta, Bath, Buckingham, Cumberland, Fluvanna, Greene, Highland, Louisa, Nelson, Orange, Rockbridge, Rockingham and the cities of Buena Vista, Charlottesville, Harrisonburg, Lexington, Staunton and Waynesboro

Robert "Rob" J. VanLier, P.E.
Regional Dam Safety Engineer
900 Natural Resources Drive, Room 2028
Fontaine Research Park
Charlottesville, VA 22903
434-244-0653 office
Robert.VanLier@dcr.virginia.gov

Floodplain Management

Charley Banks, C.F.M.
Floodplain Program Engineer
600 E. Main St., 24th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
804-371-6135 office
804-371-2630 fax
Charley.Banks@dcr.virginia.gov

Nabil Ghalayini, P.E., C.F.M., D.WRE
Floodplain Program Specialist
600 E. Main St., 24th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
804-786-2886 office
804-371-2630 fax
Nabil.Ghalayini@dcr.virginia.gov

Melissa Hall
Floodplain Program Specialist
600 E. Main St., 24th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
804-505-0228 office
804-371-2630 fax
Melissa.Hall@dcr.virginia.gov

Soil and Water Conservation District and State Park Dams

Ken Turner, P.E.
Dam Safety Consultant
600 E. Main St., 24th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
804-371-6132 office
804-371-2630 fax
Ken.Turner@dcr.virginia.gov

Simplified Dam Breach Inundation Mapping Program

George L. Eller, P.E.
Dam Safety Engineer / Modeler
600 E. Main St., 24th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
804-371-6095 office
804-371-2630 fax
George.Eller@dcr.virginia.gov